GPP Logo
HRFN

LGBTQI Rights and the Power of Following the Funding
Tuesday, October 19
11:00 am -12:00 pm EST/ 5:00-6:00 pm CEST / 6:00 – 7:00 pm EAT

Visibility and data have been fundamental to moving the needle on funding for LGBTQI communities globally. LGBTQI rights constitute a mere 3% of foundation funding for human rights. However, dedicated advocacy has increased the total dollars and shaped a new narrative about the diverse needs within the broad umbrella of LGBTQI rights.

Global Philanthropy Project (GPP) and partners such as Astraea, the International Trans Fund, and the Intersex Human Rights Fund have made powerful in-roads with philanthropic and governmental donors. Through hard-hitting research and strategic relationship-building, we have witnessed increases in funding for trans and intersex rights, awareness about the unique needs of lesbian, bisexual, and queer (LBQ) communities, and greater willingness to listen to movements’ priorities.

Other regional funds, such as ISDAO (Initiative Sankofa d’Afrique de l’Ouest), have led regional mapping efforts to help meet the most pressing needs of LGBTQI people in West Africa.

This session brings these experiences together to underscore the power of visibility in shifting the funding landscape.

This two-part series is about how we change the narrative and move more money to the forefront of social change.  The first session is Mapping Funding: Black feminist activism, disability rights, and regional funding disparities.

Poster-AHR-Power-in-Numbers-Event-600x600

Mapping Funding: Black feminist activism, disability rights, and regional funding disparities

Tuesday, September 28
11:00 am -12:00 pm EST/ 5:00-6:00 pm CEST / 6:00 – 7:00 pm EAT

 

Movements are organizing to bring data on funding flows into their advocacy for resources. In this session, we will hear from three leading experts who have leveraged funding data from the Advancing Human Rights research.